2017 Tour of Turkey teams confirmed

The organisers of the Tour of Turkey have announced the 13 teams for the 2017 edition of the race. This year is the first that the Tour of Turkey will be fun at WorldTour level but has struggled to attract teams from the top tier.

The WorldTour will be represented by Astana Pro Team, Bora-Hansgrohe, Trek-Segafredo and UAE Team Emirates as Cyclingnews previously reported.

The bulk of the teams for the six-stage 10-15 October race come from the Pro-Continental ranks. José Gonçalves won the race last year, when it was run at 2.HC level, with Caja Rural-Seguros RGA and the Spanish team will return in 2017. However, as Gonçalves has moved to the Katusha-Alpecin squad, he won’t be able to defend his title.


Also from the Pro-Continental ranks are Italian squads Androni Giocattoli, Bardiani CSF and Wilier Triestina. There is Polish representation from CCC Sprandi Polkowice, with a team each from Russia, Gazprom – Rusvelo, Brasil with Soul Brasil Pro Cycling Team and Belgium’s WB Veranclassic Aqua Protect.

There will also be a Turkish national team in attendance.

Due to security concerns within Turkey, WorldTour teams LottoNL-Jumbo and Lotto Soudal both publicly stated they would not be taking part in the 2017 edition of the race. The country is currently in a state of emergency’ with a high risk of terror attacks.

2017 Tour of Turkey teams

You can read more at Cyclingnews.com